One of the consequences that drivers arrested for DWI in Texas don’t think about is what it will do to their car insurance. A DUI conviction can have disastrous implications on how much you pay annually and your ability to find an insurer that will cover you.
Once you have been convicted of drunk driving in Teas, there is no such thing as cheap auto insurance. The price will go up, but the question is, just how much will it increase? The average annual penalty for having a DWI on your record is $762. That increase averages 54%, less than the nationwide average increase of 64%. Most annual policies for drivers with DWI convictions on their records run from about $1,8000 to $2,000. Texas has no maximum look-back period for drunk driving offenses, so that the sentence could impact your insurance for the rest of your life.
DWI convictions have other consequences. For first-time offenders, those consequences can include:
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Maximum $2,000 fine
- Loss of driver’s license for up to a year
- Possible requirement to attend a DUI program
- Possible requirement to use an ignition interlock device
Aggressive defense is necessary for DUI/DWI charges
Although many people use the two terms interchangeably, Texas has different definitions for driving under the influence (DUI) and driving while intoxicated (DWI). DUI laws apply only to those under the age of 21. The state prefers to sentence convicted motorists to probation instead of jail, but even that situation could have dire consequences for you.
Most drunk driving cases follow a similar procedural path, including several standardized field sobriety tests to determine intoxication levels and possible blood alcohol tests. If these tests aren’t properly performed or there is no cause to stop you, the arrest could be thrown out of court.